Section of I-26 East Closing Tonight, Thursday Night

Traffic detoured to route with longer green lights

RALEIGH – A section of Interstate 26 East will be closed Wednesday and Thursday nights. Motorists will be detoured onto Hendersonville Road (U.S. 25) where traffic signals will be modified to handle the increased traffic. 

I-26 East will be closed from Long Shoals Road (Exit 37) to U.S. 25 Business (Exit 44) starting no earlier than 8 p.m. each night. Contractors for the N.C. Department of Transportation will be conducting multiple operations in both Buncombe and Henderson Counties.  

Traffic will be diverted, via the Integrated Corridor Management (ICM) system, to Long Shoals Road (N.C. 146) and Hendersonville Road (U.S. 25) then back to I-26. The interstate will reopen no later than 6 a.m. The ICM system will provide longer green times at traffic signals to accommodate the additional interstate traffic.

On Wednesday night, in Buncombe County, crews will shift the eastbound traffic pattern between Glen Bridge Road and Airport Road. Crews in Henderson County will be paving in preparation for a traffic shift that will occur Thursday night. The eastbound traffic in Henderson County will shift toward the median between Airport Road and the I-26 East rest area. 

These plans are weather-dependent and subject to change. Transportation officials advise drivers to obey all posted traffic signs and remain alert in work zones.

Transportation officials remind drivers to slow down, remain alert and obey all posted signs when driving through construction zones.

For real-time travel information, visit DriveNC.gov or follow NCDOT on social media.

***NCDOT***   Copyright N.C. Department of Transportation
1503 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699 | (919) 707-2660 

Saturday Service Hours Temporarily Suspended at 16 Driver License Offices

Changes in operations in response to COVID-19 Delta variant

ROCKY MOUNT – Starting Sept. 4, the N.C. Division of Motor Vehicles will temporarily suspend its Saturday services at the 16 driver license offices where services were available, to better protect customers and staff from the spread of the COVID-19 Delta variant.

Temporarily suspending Saturday hours will reduce potential COVID exposures, as examiners who work on Saturdays typically travel from several offices to work together in one office.

Saturday service hours from 8 a.m.-noon will be suspended at the following driver license offices:

Asheville, 1624 Patton Ave.
Charlotte, 9711 David Taylor Dr.
Charlotte, 201-H W. Arrowood Rd.
Durham, 3825 S. Roxboro St., Suite 119
Fayetteville, 831 Elm St.
Greensboro, 2527 E. Market St.
Greensboro, 2391 Coliseum Blvd.
Greenville, 4651 North Creek Dr.
Hendersonville, 125 Baystone Dr.
Hudson, 309 Pine Mountain Rd.
Huntersville, 12101 Mount Holly-Huntersville Rd.
Jacksonville, 299 Wilmington Hwy.
Monroe, 3122 U.S. Hwy. 74 W.
Raleigh, 2431 Spring Forest Rd., Suite 101
Wilmington, 2390 Carolina Beach Rd., Suite 104
Winston-Salem, 2001 Silas Creek Pkwy.  

Saturday extended hours will be suspended until NCDMV determines it is safer to resume Saturday service. Saturday hours are for walk-in customers only.  

Saturday hours were originally suspended in March 2020 due to the onset of the COVID 19 pandemic. Saturday services resumed in May 2021.  

Tips if heading to a NCDMV office Anyone considering a visit to the NCDMV should check to determine if they can complete their business online.  

NCDMV already offers online access for many services, including driver license renewals, ordering duplicate licenses and ID cards, driving record requests, driver license office appointments, registration renewals, vehicle property tax payments, duplicate registration cards, ordering personalized and specialty plates, payment of insurance lapse fines, and applying for voter registration.  

NCDMV encourages online appointment scheduling for weekday visits to driver license offices. However, walk-in customers are welcome. People can make an online appointment 90 days in advance.    

***NCDOT***   Copyright N.C. Department of Transportation
1503 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699 | (919) 707-2660 

Shared by FRPO–Depression Under I-26 East Causes Detour by U.S. 25

Drivers to take four-mile detour to rejoin I-26

FLAT ROCK – A depression under Interstate 26 East near Exit 54 has both lanes closed at U.S. 25 south in Henderson County. N.C. Department of Transportation engineers are assessing the damage and will perform a video examination of utilities under the road. The lanes will reopen once repairs have been completed and inspected for safety.  Transportation officials have established a temporary four-mile detour for I-26 East traffic. Drivers are to take Exit 54 (U.S. 25 South) to Exit 7 (U.S. 176), cross the highway, then head back on U.S. 25 North to rejoin I-26.  As a reminder, state law prohibits commercial truck traffic on the curvy U.S. 176.  Transportation officials remind drivers to slow down and obey all posted signs.

For real-time travel information, visit DriveNC.gov or follow NCDOT on social media.

Volunteers Needed for Statewide Litter Sweep

Annual Fall Litter Sweep will run from Sept. 11-25 

RALEIGH – The N.C. Department of Transportation needs volunteers to help clean up trash along roads during the Adopt-A-Highway Fall Litter Sweep from Sept. 11-25.

Each April and September, NCDOT asks volunteers to help remove litter from roadsides. Volunteers from local businesses, schools, nonprofits, churches, municipalities, law enforcement and community groups play an important role in keeping North Carolina’s roads clean.

Joining this effort is easier than ever before as volunteers can now sign up by way of a convenient online form.

“Since this year began, NCDOT and our partner organizations have picked up more than eight and a half million pounds of litter,” said State Roadside Engineer David Harris. “We need everyone’s help to keep that momentum. The Litter Sweep is a great opportunity to get outdoors with family and friends and work alongside NCDOT to ensure North Carolina remains a beautiful place to live and work.”

Volunteers can request clean-up supplies such as trash bags, gloves and safety vests from local NCDOT county maintenance offices. 

All volunteers are encouraged to follow proper COVID-19 safety guidance. This includes wearing face masks and gloves at all times and keeping 6 feet apart from other volunteers. Anyone who has been recently diagnosed with or exposed to COVID-19 should refrain from participating. 

For more information, visit the Litter Sweep web page or call 919-707-2970.

***NCDOT***   Copyright N.C. Department of Transportation
1503 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699 | (919) 707-2660